Ballycastle

Ballycastle Museum

Auf der Karte anzeigen

Kontaktinformationen

Adresse

Cloonavin 66 Portstewart Road, Coleraine, County Londonderry,
Mrs Helen Perry
 (028) 7034 7034
 cms@causewaycoastandglens.gov.uk

Folk and social history of the Glens in the town's 18th century courthouse.

Ballycastle Museum is housed in the listed 18th century courthouse and market building in the town centre. Visitors to the Accredited Museum can explore the permanent display of the fascinating history of the Irish Homes Industries Workshop, its role in the 1904 St Louis World Fair and the Arts and Crafts Revival in Ireland. Highlights also include Bronze Age archaeology, Boyds 18th century Ballycastle and the magnificent Taise Banner from the first Feis na nGleann in 1904.

The first Glen Feis in 1904, with lead organiser F.J. Bigger, featured banners designed by John Campbell, representing the nine glens of Antrim. The magnificent Taise banner is now the only known one in existence from that Feis and is on display in Ballycastle Museum. The collection also features artworks by prominent Irish artists such as J.W. Carey, John Campbell, Rosamund Praegar and watercolours by A. Nicholl and John Nixonhere is also social history material of the 19th and 20th century, Neolithic finds from Rathlin Island, Bronze Age material and a photographic and postcard archive.

Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council is a partner in Causeway Museum Service which develops and delivers museum services with collections.

In addition to summer hours, Museum usually Open: September: Friday & Saturday 10am – 6pm and Sunday 2 - 6pm

October – December: Closed for winter.

?www.niarchive.org/Ballycastle
www.facebook.com/FriendsofBallycastleMuseum