Malahide Castle and Gardens
- Auf der Karte anzeigen
Malahide Castle, set on 250 acres of park land in the pretty seaside town of Malahide, was both a fortress and a private home for nearly 800 years and is an interesting mix of architectural styles. A feature of Demense is the Talbot Botanic Garden.
Visitors can expect an enhanced visitor experience on entering the castle, including a new Talbot Family Exhibition and interpretation area on the ground floor of the castle, friendly and experienced guides - offering guided tours in different languages. In the old castle courtyard visitors can expect a brand new visitor centre where tickets can be bought for guided & audio tours of the castle & gardens.
The stunning walled gardens will also be opened to the public for the first time- allowing visitors to ramble around at their own pace!
Within the visitor centre in the courtyard, a new interpretation & exhibition area tells visitors the story of the walled gardens as seen through the eyes of 'Lord Milo Talbot', the creator of the gardens and grounds as seen today.
Another added feature is the new education/ conference area for groups and schools!
Malahide Castle, set on 250 acres of park land in the pretty seaside town of Malahide,w as both a fortress and a private home for nearly 800 years and is an interesting mix of architectural styles.
The Talbot family lived here from 1185 to 1973, when the last Talbot died. The house is furnished with beautiful period furniture together with an extensive collection of Irish portrait paintings, mainly from the National Gallery.
The history of the Talbot family is recorded in the Great Hall, where portraits of generations of the family tell their own story of Ireland's stormy history. Many additions and alterations have been made to this romantic and beautiful structure, but the contours of the surrounding parklands have changed little in 800 years, retaining a sense of the past.
A major feature of Malahide Castle Demesne is the beautiful Talbot Botanic Gardens. The gardens, as they exist today, were largely created by Lord Milo Talbot between 1948 and 1973.