The Louth Arms
Visitar el sitio web
- Ver mapa
The Louth Arms Pub Bed and Breakfast is located in the picturesque village of Tallanstown, County Louth on the banks of the River Glyde. Originally a barracks, the building in which the Louth Arms is situated dates back to 1690.
The Smyth family have been proprietors of The Louth Arms for four generations. Andrew and Caroline are the current owners. Refurbished to a very high standard, The Louth Arms has been approved by Fáilte Ireland, and is located between the towns of Dundalk and Ardee.
The Louth Arms accommodation consists of two double rooms, one family room, and one single room. All are stylishly furnished and decorated, with ensuite facilities, multi-channel television and telephone. The Louth Arms has a spacious lounge, a bar, private function room, and there is also a riverside beer garden with a smoking area overlooking the river Glyde. There is a 24 Hour Reception.
Local activities include the literary trails of Patrick Kavanagh and Francis Ledgwich who are two famous local poets. Also in the area are craft trails, walking on The Oriel Trail, cycling on The Tain Cycling Trail, Pitch and Putt and Golf. There is fishing on the rivers Glyde and Dee.
The Louth Hunt was established in 1817 and is based in Tallanstown. The hunt offers the visitor the opportunity to ride with the hunt, horse and dog racing. Horse riding is available in the only all weather indoor track in Ireland.
The Louth Arms is set in the village of Tallanstown, a picturesque manorial village in the heart of County Louth. Triangular in shape, the village was developed in the nineteenth century to house workers from the nearby Louth Hall estate and has the neat and trim appearance of many such estate villages. The Louth Arms stands at the apex of the triangle.
Originally a barracks, the building in which the Louth Arms is situated dates back to 1690 when it was granted its character as Manor Court to the estate. The Louth Hall estate was owned by the Plunkett family, whose most famous member was St. Oliver Plunkett.