Literary Ireland

1 of 2

Galway County Library

View as map

Contact details


Island House, Cathedral Square, Galway City, Galway,
Mr Pat McMahon
T: +353(0)91562471
F: +353(0)91565039

The Galway County Library service boasts 29 branches throughout the city and county as well as a mobile library to reach smaller towns and villages. Visitors and locals are welcome at the public libraries.

The Galway Library Service consists of 29 libraries in total across the city and county. The three libraries in Galway City are purpose-built, full-time libraries, which the County Council operates on behalf of the City Council.

There are a further seven full-time and 19 part-time library facilities throughout Galway County, including on the islands of Inis Mór, Inis Meáin, Inis Oirr and Inisbofin. A mobile library service brings books to many smaller towns and villages. There is a school’s library service, which distributes books to over 200 primary schools.

The public library system is available to locals and visitors alike during opening hours.

The headquarters are housed at Island House in Galway City’s Cathedral Square.