The Quiet Man Museum, Tours & Giftshop
- View as map
The Quiet Man Cottage Museum is housed in a replica of the White O'Morn cottage seen in John Ford's famous film. Located in Cong village, County Mayo, the idyllic backdrop for many of The Quiet Man scenes.
In 1951 John Ford's greatest movie 'The Quiet Man' starring John Wayne, Maureen O'Hara and Barry Fitzgerald was made in the west of Ireland.
Much of the film centred around the village of Cong on the Mayo-Galway border. Located by the river at Circular Road, Cong, between actual locations used for the filming, the thatched cottage's ground floor has been designed as an exact replica of 'White-o-Morn' Cottage.
Painstaking effort has ensured that all the furnishings, artifacts, costumes etc are authentic reproductions. The four poster bed, tables and chairs, treasured by Mary Kate Danaher, thatched roof, emerald green half-door and whitewashed front combine to charm visitors.
The Quiet Man Cottage Museum is a novel concept which will give the visitor a total Quiet Man experience as if they were actually on the movie set.
Daily guided tours of the film locations used for 'The Quiet Man' are on offer from April to the end of October. Check the website for additional details.