Literary Ireland

Pearse Street Library

View as map

Contact details


138 to 144 Pearse Street, Dublin City, Dublin,
T: +353(0)16744888

Dating back to 1909, Pearse Street Library houses the Dublin Collection, which comprises Dublin and daily newspapers and periodicals dating from the 18th century. This Dublin City library is intended for students, researchers and the public.

Dublin City’s Pearse Street Library was built in 1909 with the financial support of American millionaire Andrew Carnegie. Today it features a public library downstairs and a special study library upstairs. It is a place where visitors can trace their family trees or look up the history of their area. Another feature is the stone head of Admiral Horatio Nelson; Nelson’s Pillar on O’Connell Street was blown up in 1966, and the head of the statue was saved.

The library houses the Dublin Collection, including Dublin and daily newspapers and periodicals, dating from the 18th century. Newspapers are collected on an ongoing basis and are available to the public in bound form and on microfilm.

The Irish Collection is a major information source on Irish local studies and includes material by Irish authors and about Irish language, genealogy and family history. Meanwhile, the City Archives, dating from the 12th century, now have a permanent home in the newly refurbished and extended building.

The library is intended for serious students and researchers as well as the general public, and as reading places are limited, it is advisable to make appointments for proposed visits.