A typical, 15th Century Gaelic tower house, situated on the periphery of the Burren, about 500 metres off the R476 and 11km from Ennis, on the Corofin road.
A typical, 15th Century Gaelic tower house, situated on the periphery of the Burren, about 500 metres off the R476 and 11km from Ennis, on the Corofin road. The home of the O’Dea chiefs until 1692, it was the scene of many sieges by Cromwellian forces. The castle lapsed into ruin after O’Dea’s lands were forfeited. It was restored in 1986-88 by the Dysert O’Dea Development Association.
The castle now houses an extensive museum of local artefacts from the Stone Age to the present day. An audio-visual presentation on the history and archaeology of this unique area and various exhibitions gives the visitor a unique experience of the history and heritage of Dysert O’Dea and will serve as a primer for the history walk in the open countryside nearby.
The 6km walking trail around the castle is situated in the most archaeologically fertile area in Europe and contains 25 original monuments. These monuments and many more are all authentic archaeological sites listed in the Record of Monuments for Co. Clare Office PW 1996).
For opening times, admission prices and further information, please see our website.