Ballindoolin offers a unique opportunity to visit an interesting,little known early ninteenth-century house, farmyard and gardens still in its original natural-style surroundings, close to the source of the river Boyne.
Ballindoolin House, located five miles (8kms) from Edenderry, was built in 1822 by Dutch descendant, Humphrey Bor. The interior of the house is for the most part in an intact state, with all of its original plasterwork, joinery and fireplaces.
Much of the furniture is of significant historic interest as it was specifically designed and made for the house in 1822 when the Bor family first moved in. The furniture is the work of Mack, Williams and Gibton who were a successful and distinguished firm of Dublin cabinet makers in the early nineteenth century.
The walled garden was created with the house in 1822. It was built at the beginning of the modern garden era, as we know it today, before then natural landscapes were popular around large country houses.
Other Ballindoolin facilities include a museum, housed in a former woodwork shop, which displays old estate records and Victorian paraphenelia. Nature trail and unusual features such as a lime kiln, dove cote and melon pit.
For visiting arrangements, etc, please telephone.