The Palace Demesne Public Park
- View as map
The Palace Demesne comprises of over 70 acres of beautiful parkland set in Armagh City Centre.
Situated within walking distance of the City Centre, for over two hundred years the undulating parkland of the Palace Demesne has been one of the glories of Armagh.
The Demesne, comprising some 300 acres, is the creation of Archbishop Richard Robinson. The Palace was the residence of the Archbishops of the Church of Ireland from 1770 to 1975.
The walks around the Demesne vary in distance and effort, taking you into the back meadows and around the more formal gardens. There is also a chance to relax in the ‘Garden of the Senses’ created to provide a sensory experience that will appeal to both able-bodied and disabled visitors. The garden is made up of five distinct areas linked by a winding path. There is also an outdoor play park and outdoor gym.
There is a restaurant and coffee shop within the grounds called the Moody Boar.
Armagh's 13th century Franciscan Friary can be found at the entrance to the Palace Demesne.
The Centre is situated next to the impressive Primate's Palace and is open freely all year round.
Tours are available during the Summer Season telling the story of the Demesne through Living History Interpretation. Costumed interpreters recreate both the grandeur and the squalor of the Georgian period.