Milford House Museum
- View as map
The Milford House Museum in Co. Armagh is located at no 57 William Street.
The Milford House Museum in Co. Armagh is located at no 57 William Street in the heart of Milford village, only five minutes walk from Milford House. One of the only mill houses open to the public in its original model village setting in Northern Ireland. Presented as a family home no 57 William Street has unique warm and welcoming feeling. Packed with the remaining contents of Milford House family portraits and possessions including documents and costumes, the Manor House School collections and fine collections of Georgian, Regency and Victorian furnishings and old master paintings works of art include porcelain painted by Anjelica Kauffman.
Milford House was the one of its age. The most technologically advanced house in 19th century Ireland- the first in Ireland to be lit with hydro electricity. The Palace of a modern magician- the creation of Robert Garmany Mc Crum, self made industrialist, benefactor and inventor who revolutionized the linen industry. His son William invented the penalty kick rule in football and his daughter Harriette was a founding member of the women’s suffragette movement in Ireland. By 1880 Milford House had six bathrooms each with a Jacuzzi and Turkish bath and a waterfall in the dining room. From 1936 to 1965 it was home to the Manor House School- if you think this girls boarding school was boring think again! Visit the museum at no 57 and guided tours will reveal the fascinating world the extraordinary Mc Crum family, the spectacular house they built and life at the Manor House School. You won’t be disappointed!!
Afterwards why not enjoy afternoon tea or coffee, browse through our shop and visit the world famous William Mc Crum park (which is across the street from the museum) where the penalty kick was invented in 1890.
Facilities: guided tours, toilets, shop, café area providing afternoon tea and refreshments, education programme, research facilities and archives. Parking available at the William Mc Crum park which is on opposite side of William Street. Disabled access on ground floor only.
Please note: Visitors enter no.57 William Street through the yard at the rear of the house. Please contact Milford Buildings Preservation Trust Te:02837525467 or Armagh Tourist Office Te;02837521800 for further information. This is a highly popular attraction and admission is by guided tour only. There is limited disabled access.