Historic houses and castles

Castle McGrath

View as map

Contact details


Pettigo, Donegal, Republic of Ireland
T: +353(0)749721148

Pettigo is also the home of the Clan McGrath, with the ruins of the castle lying a quarter of a mile outside the village in a picturesque setting, by the shores of Lough Eme.

Castle McGrath was built in the 1600’s and was home to Bishop Miler McGrath. The castle was besieged and captured during the 1641 rebellion and abandoned soon after.

There was escape tunnel from the castle to the Belaut River.