Milford House Collection
Visiter le site
- Voir la carte
Informations de contact
The Milford House Museum in County Armagh is located at number 57 William Street.
Milford House was the one of its age. The most technologically advanced house in 19th century Ireland - the first in Ireland to be lit with hydro electricity. The creation of Robert Garmany McCrum, self made industrialist, benefactor and inventor who revolutionized the linen industry. His son William invented the penalty kick rule in football (which makes Milford world famous!) and his daughter Harriette was a founding member of the women’s suffragette movement in Ireland. By 1880 Milford House had six bathrooms each with a Jacuzzi and Turkish bath and a waterfall in the dining room. From 1936 to 1965 it was home to the Manor House School.Today Milford House is one of the top ten listed buildings at most serious risk in Northern Ireland.The collections of Milford House are located in 3 Victoria Street a beautiful restored Victorian townhouse where William McCrum spent his last days after losing the family fortune in Wall Street crash.
• Home to important works of art including paintings by Frederick Goodall and Daniel Sherrin
• On display is the wedding dress of Harriette McCrum
• Elegant interiors
• Discover the first telephone system in County Armagh
Historic house, Garden, Shop, Guided tours, , Programme of events, Access for visitors with disability, Facilities for families, Learning, Dogs welcome on leads in grounds/garden only.
Please note there is no access to Milford House estate.