Timoleague Franciscan Friary
Visiter le site
- Voir la carte
Informations de contact
Timoleague is a village found near the sea, just 10km east of Clonakilty in County Cork. It is home to the extensive ruins of a Franciscan friary established in the late-13th or early-14th century.
The Franciscan friary of Timoleague was founded in the late-13th or early-14th century and today, extensive ruins remain in the village, which is located in County Cork, just 10km east of Clonakilty.
Visitors can explore the long church, nave, transept, cloister and tower. They can also find a bullaun stone and fine windows.
It’s believed that either Donal Glas MacCarthy or William Barry founded the friary, which survived until it was burnt by English soldiers in 1642.