Ballinamuck Visitor Centre

View as map

Contact details


Ballinamuck, Longford,
E: info@longfordtourism.ie

The Ballinamuck Visitor Centre, in County Longford, presents a lively exhibition which gives details of the Year of the French and the Battle of Ballinamuck which took place in 1798.

The Ballinamuck Visitor Centre, in County Longford, is located in the historic former Royal Irish Constabulary barracks in the picturesque village of Ballinamuck in north county Longford. The centre was officially opened by Mary McAlesse, the then President of Ireland, in July 1999 and houses a fascinating and lively exhibition.

The fateful events of the Battle of Ballinamuck on the 8th of September 1798 are vividly presented with eyewitness accounts from local people and officers of the opposing armies. The exhibition explains the background to these events and the national and international significance of the collision of forces around this county Longford village. After informing oneself on the impressive history of the area you may tread the ground where the battle took place, visiting the many historicaly significant sites.