Layd Old Church
- View as map
Located one mile from Cushendall are the delightful ruins of a 13th century Franciscan foundation.
Located one mile from Cushendall are the delightful ruins of a 13th century Franciscan foundation. Chief burial place of the MacDonnell's after Bonamargy which has been built at least three times and served as a parish church from 1306 to the end of the 18th century. Fine stones in the graveyard include a cross in memory of Doctor James MacDonnell, pioneer in the use of chloroform for surgical operations.
Open access all year round. Stunning coastal views.
Set in a steep sided valley, uneven ground, take care on walking.
From the Village of Cushendall take the Shore Road and park in the layby (toilets are located at the layby).Follow the laneway northwards for approx. 200m, turn right onto the cliff path and follow the path along the coast to Layd Church.