Historic houses and castles

Teach Mhuiris

View as map

Contact details

Address

Brinalack, Derrybeg, Donegal,
Mr Comharchumann Forbartha Ghaoth Dobhair
T: +353(0)749532208
E: cfgd@eircom.net

Thatched Cottage/Heritage Cottage. It is the only thatched cottage in the area and has been known to be a ‘’gathering/halfway house’’.

Teach Mhuiris was originally built 1860; it was refurbished in the 1980’s when it was saved from demolition. (Mhuiris - the last member of the original household died in 1979). Teach Mhuiris is currently owned by Údarás Na Gaeltachta. It is the only thatched cottage in the area and has been known to be a ‘’gathering/halfway house’’. It is a protected structure and it was re-thatched in 2005.

The cottage is currently leased by Comharchumann Forbartha Gaoth Dobhair since 2009, and is managed by the sub-committee in co-operation with various community employment schemes. The committee use it as a ‘’teach ceoil/áirneail’ ’and hold regular cultural and heritage related events in it. The annual ‘’Feile Cnoc Fola’’- which happens each July and now is in its 30th year was ‘’built around’’ Teach Mhuiris and focuses on traditional skills, crafts farming and cooking methods

It is opened to visitors during the summer tourism season- over 2000 visitors visit the cottage per year. There are many old traditional household appliances and implements on display, as well as genealogical information from the local area. There is a permanent guide present who is employed through the Jobs Initiative (JI) employment scheme. There is no admission charge, but visitors can make a voluntary contribution.