- Auf der Karte anzeigen
Cushendun stands on an elevated beach at the outflow of the Glendun and Glencorp valleys. The ...
Cushendun stands on an elevated beach at the outflow of the Glendun and Glencorp valleys. The name in Irish is Cois an Duine, meaning Foot of the Dun, identifying the village’s location at the mouth of the River Dun.
The pretty village was designed by Clough William Ellis in 1912 at the request of Ronald John McNeill, Baron Cushendun. The picturesque Cornish appearance was deliberate, to please the Baron’s Penzance-born wife, Maud. Ellis designed a village square with seven houses which are today run as craft shops and tea rooms. After Maud’s death in 1925, Ellis designed a row of whitewashed, quaint cottages in her memory. Baron Cushendun also commissioned neo-Georgian Glenmona House with all the mock pomposity of eighteenth century architecture.
Centuries before this genteel village was built, Cushendun was a safe landing place and harbour for the frequent travellers between Ireland and Scotland. Rival Irish clans often landed on the beach near Carra Castle. Built in the fourteenth century over a Mesolithic flint site, the ruins of the castle remain today. Close to the ruins, lie several Bronze Age standing stones. The poets Moira O’Neill and John Masefield lived in Cushendun and found the landscapes and settings inspirational.