Smithwick’s Experience Kilkenny
- View as map
Smithwick’s Experience Kilkenny. This new multi-sensory and interactive experience will take visitors on a journey through the medieval origins of brewing to the present day. Named as one of Lonely Planet’s top 26 must see attractions in 2015.
Smithwick’s Experience Kilkenny. This new multi-sensory and interactive experience will take visitors on a journey through the medieval origins of brewing on the site of the St. Francis Abbey Brewery to the arrival of John Smithwick in the 1700’s, and right up to the present day. Visitors will be fully immersed in the history of Smithwick’s, Ireland’s oldest beer brand, the amazing heritage of the Smithwick’s family and its place in Kilkenny, a city steeped in history and brewing.
The tour includes a giant seven foot high hologram monk welcoming you to the brewery. when you start the tour it will be in a monastry-like cavern, just as it was when the monks came there all those centuries ago and it will be lit by candlelight making it even more atmospheric. During the tour, the Smithwick’s brewing process will be brought to life with visitors having the opportunity to experience the smells, tastes and textures of the raw materials involved in creating the perfect pint of ale.
Smithwick’s Experience has been named as one of Lonely Planet’s top 26 attractions in 2015
French, German, Spanish and Italian speaking visitors will be offered an audio guide to take them through the tour, which lasts approximately 70 minutes. For further information, directions to the experience and to purchase tickets, log on to www.smithwicksexperience.com
This abbey (more correctly friary) of the Franciscans was founded between 1231 and 1234 by Richard Marshall, Third Earl of Pembroke. In 1331 Dame lsabelia Pairner extended the Chancel and erected the high altar and present east window, which extends almost the entire height and width of the church and consists of a seven-light window. In 1540 the friary was suppressed and its properties granted to the Corporation.
The subsequent ruin of the monastery was accelerated by the seemingly inevitable building of a barracks in the grounds. Only the chancel and bell tower of the church were spared together with the sacristy, recently restored as the oratory of Smithwicks Brewery