Beaulieu House, Gardens and Car Museum
- View as map
, Beaulieu House, Drogheda, Louth, Republic of Ireland
T: +353 (0)41 9838557
F: +353 (0)41 9845051
Beaulieu is one of the oldest unfortified homes to be found in Ireland dating back from 1660 -1666.It has been lived in by the same family for 11 generations. Many interesting carving, paintings and plasterwork adorn the interiors of the house.
Beaulieu is almost unique in that it is one of the earliest unfortified houses in the country and more unusual still, it has remained in the same family for eleven generations often descending through the female line.
The mansion house which stands today, was built mainly between 1600 – 1666, with some delightful interior decorations and grand staircase, build in Dublin and shipped up the Boyne River in 1723.
Beaulieu’s high eave roof and dormered attic is carried on massive modillion cornices typical of the Caroline period and the small, red brick window dressings reflects architectural fashion of Northern Europe, particularly Dutch architectural practice of the time. The front entrance is protected by heavy carved oak and iron shutters and there are the remains fo a massive ditch, which once protected the building’s curtilage.
Beaulieu’s walled garden is a tranquil haven for anyone who loves plants and the herbaceous border looks its very best between May and July.
Guided tours of the house operate through the summer season and a small car collection illustrates the late owner’s passion of racing
Open on selected days throughout 2014.
House and grounds are open to visitors from May 1st, to September 5th, 2014, including Heritage Week, Weekdays 11am-5pm, Weekends 1pm-5pm
More information on visiting arrangements, times etc. view website