Presently a Catholic church in Adare, County Limerick, Trinitarian Abbey was founded in 1230 by Geoffrey de Marisco as the order’s only Irish house. It was destroyed during the suppression of Henry VIII and was restored in the 19th century.
In Adare, County Limerick, visitors can see the present Holy Trinity Abbey Church, which was once the country’s only Trinitarian abbey, founded in 1230. Apart from its religious purposes, the order worked to liberate Christian captives during the Crusades. The abbey was commonly referred to as the White Monastery due to the white habit worn by the monks.
After its suppression during the Reformation, the abbey fell into ruin and today, the remains comprise tower, nave and part of the church’s choir. In 1811, the Earl of Dunraven converted the remains into the present-day Catholic parish church.