- Bekijk op kaart
Castle Street, Bellaghy, County Londonderry,
Mr Gerad Cutmore
(028) 7938 6812
Built around 1619 by Sir Baptist Jones, Bellaghy Bawn is a fortified house and bawn.
Built around 1619 by Sir Baptist Jones, Bellaghy Bawn is a fortified house and bawn (the defensive wall surrounding an Irish tower house). What exists today is a mix of various building styles from different periods with the main house lived in until 1987.
Seamus Heaney Archive
Explore the history and background of the area that inspired Heaney's poetry. Visit the Bawn library devoted to his work and see the unique material from the poet, including a number of his manuscripts, books, his old schoolbag from his days at Anahorish Primary School and his entire catalogue of broadcasts and television work.
The late Seamus Heaney was a local Nobel Laureate and Bellaghy Bawn, which was opened to the public in 1996, has resources on site including a film made for the bawn as well as a collection of his broadcasts. There are also exhibitions on local natural history, local history and Seamus Heaney’s poetry.
Wheelchair access is limited.
No unaccompanied children under the age of 16.