Guesthouses en pensions

Quay House

Rating
4
Bekijk op kaart

Contactgegevens

Adres

Beach Road, Clifden, Galway,
Mrs Julia Foyle
 +353(0)9521369
 reservations@thequayhouse.com

Overlooking the harbour, The Quay House is one of Clifden's oldest buildings. It has 15 individually furnished rooms, most with balconies and some with working fireplaces.

Built for the Harbour Master nearly 200 years ago, The Quay House has been sensitively restored and now offers guest accommodation in 15 individually-styled bedrooms, furnished with good antiques and original paintings. Several of the rooms have working fireplaces. All have large bathrooms with tubs and showers and there are two ground-floor rooms which are accessible for wheelchair users. All but two of the bedrooms overlook the harbour. The Quay House stands right on the harbour, and just seven minutes walk from Clifden town centre. Family portraits, period furniture, cosy fires and a warm Irish welcome make for a unique atmosphere of comfort and charm.

The Quay House is Clifden's oldest building, dating from circa 1820. Originally the Harbour Master's house, it later became a Franciscan monastery, then a convent, and finally a hotel owned by the Pye family. Now providing townhouse accommodation in Clifden, it is run by the Foyle family, whose forebears have been entertaining guests in Connemara for nearly a century. The owners, Paddy and Julia Foyle, are always on hand for advice on fishing, golfing, riding, walking, swimming, sailing, and dining, all of which may be found close by.