County Longford One Day Tour
- Voir la carte
Informations de contact
Ballinamuck, Longford Town, Longford, Republic of Ireland
The Co. Longford One Day Tour. This tour starts from Ballinamuck in Co. Longford on the R198.
Ballinamuck is a small picturesque village in Longford, close to the Cavan and Leitrim borders. It boasts the unique way of country life that is so often sought. The landscape with its gently rolling hills and valleys was formed by the retreating ice of the last glaciations. Boglands and forests mingle with pastures to carpet this region in hues of brown and green. With its multitude of lakes and situated only 13 kilometres from the River Shannon, Ballinamuck is a haven for fishermen. Ballinamuck visitors centre, is located in the historic former Royal Irish Constabulary barracks, where there is a lively exhibition which gives details of the Year of the French and the Battle of Ballinamuck in 1798. After learning the details you may tread the ground where the battle took place.
From Ballinamuck travel on the R198 to Drumlish. The village of Drumlish is west of a ridge of low hills running north eastwards from Newtownforbes to Arva in County Cavan. A famous episode of the Land War took place in Drumlish which is documented in the book "The Land War in Drumlish". The village is the starting point for the climb of Cairn Hill, it is a pleasant climb and there are extensive views from the summit, which is crowned by a cairn. From Drumlish travel to Longford Town, The county town on the south bank of the River Camlin and on the main Dublin to Sligo road is a progressive town and the county's administrative centre. The town is spaciously laid out with wide streets and pleasant buildings and recent impressive urban development. The dome of the 19th Century Saint Mel's Cathedral, a renaissance style building of grey limestone with a lofty tower, may be seen from quite a long way outside the town. There is an ecclesiastical museum situated at the rear of this cathedral. The courthouse is the oldest building in the town and was erected in 1792. The town received its name from the ancient castle of the O' Farrell’s. The Prince of Annaly founded a Dominican priory here in 1400. From Longford Town travel on the N63 to Killashee and on to Lanesborough. Lanesboro is situated on the River Shannon at the northern end of Lough Ree. The town derives its name from the Lane family. George Lane took part in the Battle of Kinsale in 1601 and was rewarded with large amounts of land in the area. Lanesboro is linked by bridge to its sister village, Ballyleague in County Roscommon. The first bridge of wattles was replaced by a stone bridge in 1706, a new bridge was built in 1847 and was updated 1970. Activities in the area include fishing, boating and water sports, walking and pitch and putt. Places of interest include Saint Johns Church and Rathcline Castle. There are various environmental schools held here in the summer and winter. From Lanesborough travel towards Ballymahon, before Ballymahon take a turn off to the left for Keenagh village. Whilst in Keenagh, visit the Corlea Visitors Trackway.