No 5 Vicars' Hill
Visitar el sitio web
- Ver mapa
Built in 1772 as the Diocessan Registry. A Grade A listed building. Restored and reopened in 2011.
Built in 1772 as the Diocesan Registry to hold records for the Church of Ireland Diocese, this Grade A listed building has been restored and was formally opened to the public in March 2011.
While the records are no longer retained in the building, some examples are on display, with ancient coins, gems, significant prints, early Christian artefacts and other collections and curiosities which had, until recently, been stored in the nearby Armagh Public Library.
This deceptively large building, which resembles a modest dwelling from the outside, has a fascinating interior, retains many of its original features and will appeal to all age groups. There are opportunities to explore the collections in more detail through the use of touch screens. Advice and information can be provided to those who wish to carry out more in depth research of the archives, many of which are contained in Armagh Public Library which was itself established in 1771.
Old maps of Armagh are on display and provide a good overview of settlement patterns from 1600 onwards. A timeline provides a continuous history of religious leaders in the Cathedral city from St. Patrick to the present Archbishop and includes key dates such as the arrival of the Vikings. Younger visitors can make use of activity sheets to write their name in Ogham, the earliest form of Irish. They can also handle replicas of old coins, answer the quiz questions, have fun rubbing outlines of medals and ancient bronze objects and try the jig-saws of old prints.
We are located just opposite the main entrance door to St. Patrick’s Church of Ireland Cathedral at the centre of the city of Armagh and just 200 metres from Armagh Public Library.