Museums and attractions

144 of 533

The Spanish Arch

View as map

Contact details

Address

Galway City Centre, Republic of Ireland
E: museum@galwaycity.ie

The Spanish Arch was built in 1584, and is located on the banks of the river Corrib, and on the site more commonly known as Ceann na Bhalla (The Head of the Wall).

The Spanish Arch was built in 1584, and is located on the banks of the river Corrib, and on the site more commonly known as Ceann na Bhalla (The Head of the Wall).

It was originally an extension of the famous city walls, designed to protect the quays. In the past, it was known as The Blind Arch. The Arch features a wooden sculpture which was sculpted by the well-known artist, Claire Shridan, who lived in the adjacent building during the 1950s.

Today, the Spanish Arch is home to the Galway City Museum.

Will you help us?

We are continually looking to improve the experience on our website.

Please take part in our short survey, so we can make ireland.com a better place for everyone.

No thanks Close Take part in survey