- View as map
The Mill was originally built around 1842, and was one of the first linen spinning mills to be ...
The Mill was originally built around 1842, and was one of the first linen spinning mills to be established on the Lower Falls Road. Originally owned by James Kennedy and Sons of Clonard House, the family merged with McConnell to form the Falls Flax Spinning Company in 1865. A new five-storey mill was erected between 1900 and 1910. Victorian and Edwardian architecture can be seen on the site.The Mill is presently owned and managed by Conway Mill Preservation Trust. The trust was set up in 1999 as a registered charity with the aim of preserving, protecting, and restoring the mill complex for the benefit of the inhabitants of Belfast and of West Belfast in particular. After an extensive refurbishment the mill is now one Belfast’s best preserved and most important historical buildings. It provides a unique multi-functional space, at the same time preserving the local industrial heritage and history of the area. Facilities within the Mill Complex include:- Education Centre and Theatre Space - Holistic Healing Centre: Telephone - Conway Mill Artists and Gallery Space- Irish Republican History MuseumFor more information contact:Danny McAree - General ManagerEmail: email@example.comTelephone: +44 (0) 28 9032 9646