- View as map
Strangford derives its name from the Vikings who described it as “the strong Fjord”. This picturesque village nestled in a natural harbour on the coast line of Strangford Lough and is the main base for the Strangford Lough Ferry service. Strangford Castle, a 16th century tower-house with drop hole at roof level to defend the door, is located near the harbour. Castle Ward, situated between Strangford and Downpatrick, is an intriguing mansion built in 1760 in two distinct architectural styles, both Classical and Gothic. It is now owned by the National Trust and open to the public to visit.