Beaulieu House, Gardens and Car Museum
- View as map
Beaulieu, Drogheda, Louth, Republic of Ireland
T: +353 (0)41 9838557
F: +353 (0)41 9845051
Beaulieu House is a very special place, home to the same family since 1650. Located near Drogheda, it is a leading tourist attraction in County Louth and includes a walled garden and museum with classic cars.
Situated on the banks of the River Boyne, between the town of Drogheda and the Irish Sea, Beaulieu House was built by Sir Henry Tichbourne. The Plunkett family previously owned the lands of Beaulieu and its castle. One of the earliest examples in Ireland of an unfortified house, Beaulieu was constructed between 1660 and 1666, most probably designed by a Dutch architect.
Visitors can enjoy guided tours of the house and the fascinating family history. They can also stroll leisurely through the 1.5 hectares of historic walled garden or visit the on-site museum, which contains a collection of classic race and road cars with memorabilia. The house and gardens are also available for wedding receptions, conferences and corporate functions.
The house is dominated by the large two storey hall, off which are situated the dining room, drawing room and grand staircase, with the ballroom situated beyond the ante room. Functions in autumn and winter include log fires in the hall, dining and drawing room. From the drawing room a door leads to the large terraced lawn where a glorious setting awaits with views over the River Boyne. For functions, a marquee is situated on the lawn with a link to the drawing room, enabling the party to dine with views over the river.
Open on selected days throughout 2014.
House and grounds are open to visitors from May 1st, to September 5th, 2014, including Heritage Week.
Weekdays 11am-5pm, Weekends 1pm-5pm.
Except for parties of 12 or more people – by prior arrangment only, please ring to book.
Disabled access provided.