1 of 42

Drogheda Museum Millmount

View as map

Contact details


Millmount, Drogheda, Louth,
T: +353(0)419833097
F: +353(0)419841599
E: info@millmount.net

Drogheda Museum in Millmount County Louth is located in the Officer's quarters of a former military barracks built in 1808. The museum has been described as one of the finest town museums in Ireland.

Drogheda Museum, Millmount is one of County Louth’s most significant heritage sites. Situated on a great mound, clearly visible from all parts of the town,the museum is housed within a large fort that played a crucial part in Drogheda's history. The fort has been a dominant feature from Norman settlement, to Cromwell's invasion to the more recent civil war in 1922, in which the famous Martello tower was shelled and all but destroyed, an event the museum will mark this Summer with a special exhibit, featuring rare and exclusive images of the civil war.

The Museum houses a wide variety of artefacts of local and national importance. Chief amongst the attractions are the unique collection of Guild and Trade Banners. This collection is recognised by Ireland's National Museum as being of special significance and includes the only remaining guild banners in Ireland. Popular exhibits at the Millmount Museum include an authentic 18th century Irish folk kitchen, dairy and laundry, and the Irish History Room which details the major events in Ireland's history.

The whole fort has been designated the town's Cultural Quarter, hosting a wealth of craft and design workshops in which visitors can experience unique and specialised designs being created.

Added to this, is the splendid view of the entire Boyne Valley from atop the fort.