1 of 23

Cashel Folk Village - 1916 Easter Rising Museum

View as map

Contact details


Dominick Street, Cashel, Tipperary,
Mr Bernard Minogue
T: +353(0)6263601

Cashel Folk Village/1916 Easter Rising Museum in Cashel County Tipperary has been hailed as an historical master class. The Museum is a must see place to visit, because of the incredible range of historical artefacts/memorabilia on site.

Cashel Folk Village - 1916 Easter Rising Museum is the only 1916 Easter Rising - Irish War of Independence -Irish Civil War Museum combined in Ireland, and also the only 1916 Easter Rising Garden of Remembrance-
Memorial Plaza in Ireland is situated in the town of Cashel, near to the famous Rock of Cashel in County Tipperary.

"Themes on show include the Great Famine, Penal Times and the War of Independence, in a one stop shop historical master class." according to historical writer Brian O'Neil writing in the Public Sector Magazine.

The Museum has also been recently featured on TV3's Unravel Travel 'Tipperary' as one of the must see places to visit in County Tipperary.

Inside this old world museum is a fabulous collection of historical memorabilia relating in particular to famed members of the Third Tipperary Brigade and the War of Independence. There is also a section of the museum which documents The Great Irish Famine of 1845 – 1851 through lifelike exhibits and an audiovisual show concerning the Great Famine, which is well worth watching.

It also includes a Penal Chapel, (which was built with 12th century stones from the Franciscan Abbey which originally stood where our local Catholic Church now stands). This Church houses an incredible collection of religious artefacts, like the Stations of the Cross, which were brought back from Ypres in Belgium by General O’Hickie after the first World War.

Audio visual shows:
The collection of Audio Visual Shows for viewing in the Cashel Folk Village and Museums are:
•The Easter 1916 Rising
•The War of Independence 1919-1922
•The Civil War 1922-1923
•The Great Irish Famine 1845-1851